Khandro Thrinlay Chodon
Khachodling The Vision and Projects of Khandro Thrinlay Chodon
Khachodling Projects
主頁 | KHANDRO-LA | 項目 | 活動 | 資源共享 | 康卓林之友 | 聯絡我們
   
康卓林 - 醫療服務項目 (Medical Services)
  Medical treatment  

在西方我們難以想像這些偏遠的地方是什麼樣子以及如何缺少最基本的服務,所以請抽時間到這裡參觀,親自看看這裡。這是個美麗的地方,這裡的人熱情、堅強,並且有著悠久的文化傳統。


為何這裡缺少這些服務?

Tibetan Buddhism

地處偏遠、海拔高(每年有6個月因積雪與外界隔絕)

Self Sustainable

政策行為使人們遷入城市

eco-friendly

社會政治中斷

mutual respect

非原地的官僚制度

康卓林在東方的大部分專案都在印度喜馬拉雅山地區開展。Khandro-la家族在這一地區特別受到很高的尊重,Khandro-la本人就出生在這裡。康卓林致力於為這裡的人們提供精神服務和人道主義服務。他們的文化越來越接近消失的邊緣。現代化影響了這些地區,這些地區地處偏遠、缺少服務,便意味著越來越難以維持寶貴的古老傳統。康卓林側重于尊重這些文化。由於Khandro-la與這些地區有長期受人尊敬的聯繫,康卓林在提供受人尊敬的相關服務方面佔據獨特的有利地位。


康卓林開始通過提供醫療説明的方式,向曾經服務於本傳承的老年僧侶、尼眾和瑜伽士提供關懷和照顧。然而,由於當地在家眾非常虔誠、充滿信任地找到Khandro-la,請求Khandro-la用精神方法治療他們的孩子、父母以及他們自己的白內障眼等疾病,Khandro-la深深發願希望能夠給他們提供西醫治療。

Khandro-la對傳統治療方法很感興趣並且與傳統治療方法有密切聯繫,她起初為自己的叔叔、著名藏醫Trogowa Rinpoche做過翻譯。她一直希望通過採集和製作草藥來發展和傳承這些古老的疾病診斷和治療方法。這些方法當前在西方受到重視,然而傳統如果得不到支持將會消失。高海拔使草藥極其純正並且藥效很高,然而隨著旅遊業的發展、微環境的生態破壞和現代化,喜馬拉雅山的珍稀草藥及其使用日益接近消失的邊緣。手工採摘、製作的草藥現在幾乎已經成為過去,特別是在這些偏遠地區。這些古老方法與西醫結合使用時,不僅僅在這些被遺忘的地區而且在全世界都是一件非常有效的保健和提升身心的工具。

作為東西方之間的橋樑,康卓林已經擴大了醫療服務。提供這些醫療服務是Khandro-la家族和其傳承幾代人對喜馬拉雅山在家眾社區、瑜伽士社區和僧侶社區所獻出的深愛、關懷和奉獻的延續。這些社區信任、尊重Khandro-la的修持傳承,從而使康卓林在服務于這些社區方面佔有獨特的地位。


“喜馬拉雅山康卓林信託醫療服務”專案有助於通過提供保函東西方最好的治療方法的醫療服務來拯救這些文化,。當前正在開展的兩個主要醫療項目如下:


 
         
  Eye restoration project   牧民視力恢復計畫


2006年—Khandro-la拜訪了拉達克(Ladakh)Tsomorir湖地區(海拔15,000英尺)的牧民。這些牧民對Khandro-la傳承虔誠且信任,他們會請求Khandro-la對著他們的眼睛持咒加持,以求受到佑護而治癒。他們的純潔以及對眼部護理的明顯需要使Khandro-la深深感動。他們不停地找到Khandro-la,請求祝福,以便治癒他們的眼睛。Khandro-la由於接觸了現代社會,意識到他們在物質層面上需要怎樣的良好眼部護理。


 
         
 

eye examination

eye examination

 

2007年—Khandro-la在澳大利亞巡迴講教期間,展示了這群人的照片,講述了這群人對西醫眼部護理的需要。在她訪問的最後一天,一位有發展中國家工作經驗的澳大利亞眼科醫生幾乎立即提出要到Tsomoriri湖地區。


Tsomoriri社區並不輕易信任非政府組織,因為一些沒有經驗的醫生和實驗給他們留下了不愉快的經歷。相反,他們非常信任Khandro-la本人。她必須在眼科醫生參觀之前親自到這個地區,以便啟動首項計畫。

當年7月,這位眼科手術醫生來到Tsomoriri湖地區,與康卓林團隊一起工作。康卓林團隊包括這位澳大利亞眼睛外科醫生、一名僧侶組織者、Khandro-la一名在贊斯卡居住了幾年的西方學生以及康卓林一名來自摩碧(Mulbeck)的阿曼其(傳統醫生)。有100多名牧民接受了治療,並進行了小型手術。東西醫治療方法協調進行,與康卓林的願景所強調的一樣。

該眼睛治療和調查營發現許多眼睛問題都是因為在高海拔地區的長時間戶外生活,照料犛牛和綿羊時暴露於高強度紫外線。在牛棚內生火烹飪和取暖所產生的煙也造成了眼睛問題。因此,當地的條件導致當地人無法立即治療簡單的症狀或者就基本眼部護理提出建議,從而導致了許多完全可以預防的眼睛疾病。該年年底,這位醫生承諾回到這裡,希望能夠組建年度眼睛治療營,邀請專家,我們尋找一些當地人,以便將他們培訓為“赤腳眼科護士”。

 
         
 

eye treatment

eye team 2008

 

2008年—該項目當年邀請了兩名澳大利亞眼科醫生和一名澳大利亞驗光技師。他們再一次與僧侶、尼眾、西方在家眾和當地傳統社區人士合作在Tsomiriri湖地區開辦眼睛治療營。此外,在前往Tsomiriri湖地區路上,康卓林在列城和其他兩個有需要的社區提供了服務。目前有500多名當地人和牧民接受了治療,並且向他們提供了藥品、閱讀材料和太陽鏡。


途中與列城唯一的當地眼睛外科醫生(他是拉達克和贊斯卡整個地區唯一的眼科醫生)進行了重要聯繫,開始了我們對第一個當地赤腳眼科護士更長期的培訓,這位護士是一名幾乎沒有經驗或西方教育的僧侶。這個冬天是他首次對牧民進行治療。


其他當地人也參與了西方醫生和驗光技師提供的培訓—包括曼拉利的Tsewang、Ani(康卓林的女阿曼其/來自摩碧的傳統醫生)以及拉荷(Lahoul)的Dawa。在列城,一名女中學生幫助翻譯。她對這件事非常感興趣,所以她被邀請參加眼睛治療營其餘的活動。她深受感動,從而打算成為一名眼科醫生。

該項計畫最終目標是聘用和培訓9名當地人作為“赤腳眼科護士”並為他們提供必要的支援(藥品、設備和交通),以便在當地社區進行診斷和治療,建立治療場所,以供眼科專家每年前來探望。


 
         
 

Amchi Ngawang treating

Nun Pharmacist

Pilloung people

 

 

摩碧的東西醫結合醫院


12年來,Amchi (阿曼其)Ngawang一直在盡力服務于卡吉爾(Kargil)和摩碧地區人們的醫療需要。該地區距離拉達克列城以西大約7小時的路程,距離斯裡那加(Srinigar)大約8小時的路程。阿曼其意思是傳統醫生,他在卡吉爾市和木碧小鎮的診所非常繁忙(他和三名職員住在一同住在摩碧小鎮)。


Amchi-la是該地區備受尊重和信任的醫療和精神人物。他的診所平等地服務於各地區的人們—佛教徒和穆斯林教徒。雖然佛教和伊斯蘭教之間的衝突有時候影響該地區,但是在人的層面上他們相互尊重和關愛。每週的病人超過100人,有時候需要走8-10個小時以便接受診斷和治療。

2007年,竹旺薩迦師利虔誠的瑜伽士傳承學生Amchi Ngawang向Khandro-la及其康卓林信託提供了自己的場所以及技能熟練的傳統醫療工作者團隊(兩名醫生和兩名藥劑師)。

這一佈施鼓勵Khandro-la將康卓林醫療服務機構建在該地區。摩碧是個好地方,因為他是拉達克和贊斯卡之間的重要中途停留地。摩碧是小醫院的理想地點,能夠服務於這些偏遠地區的人口。有人提議在此傳統保健機構附近建一所西式醫療診所—包括牙科、眼科、兒科、急救以及診斷實驗室,從而作為東西醫療結合機構運營。

2008年,彼隆(Pilloung)(摩碧附近)人們由於非常支援這一願景,向康卓林提供了一大塊土地,以用於該醫院及其診所。該醫院目前主要在進行現場規劃和籌資。

如果您在該地區,請來看看Amchi Ngawang和康卓林診所。在摩碧,著名的昌巴雕像對面有座小寺院。如果您想對這一重要項目出資支助,請點擊下面的“立刻捐款”按鈕。

 
         
         
         
         
         
     
Donate Now
Join Email List
Update Details
 
         
         
       
    回到頁首

Khandro Thrinlay Chodon
Khachodling The Vision and Projects of Khandro Thrinlay Chodon
Khachodling Projects
HOME | KHANDRO-LA | PROJECTS | EVENTS | RESOURCES | FRIENDS OF KHACHODLING | CONTACT
   
Khachodling Projects
  Medical treatment  

It is hard for us in the West to imagine how remote these places are and how lacking in the most basic of services, so please come visit sometime and see for yourself. It is a beautiful area with warm and strong people who have a deep heritage. 

Why are these services lacking here?

Tibetan Buddhism Remoteness and high altitude (Snow isolates 6 months pa)

Self Sustainable Affirmative action policies move people to the cities

eco-friendly Sociopolitical disruptions

mutual respect Non-indigenous bureaucracy

The majority of Khachodling projects in the East take place in the Indian Himalayas. Khandro-la’s family lineage is deeply respected especially in this region and Khandro-la herself was born there. Khachodling aims to provide spiritual and humanitarian services to these people. Their culture is becoming extinct. Modernisation affects these areas and its remoteness and lack of services mean that it is increasingly difficult to maintain valuable ancient traditions. Khachodling focuses on respecting these cultures and due to Khandro-la’s long revered association with these areas Khachodling is in a unique position to be able to provide respected and relevant services.

Khachodling began its medical assistance by providing care to the many older monks, nuns and yogis who have served the lineage. However as local lay people came to Khandro-la with so much devotion and trust, asking for her spiritual healing on their children, their parents and themselves for things like their cataract ridden eyes she made deep aspiration to bring to them western medical care.

Khandro-la has had a deep interest and connection to traditional methods of healing, first translating for her uncle the famous Tibetan doctor, Trogowa Rinpoche. She has long held the aim to nurture and save these ancient methods of diagnosing and treating illness with the collecting and making of herbs. These methods are now valued in the West yet the traditions will die out unless supported. High altitude makes herbs exceptionally pure and strong, yet with increased tourism, ecological destruction of micro -environments, modernization, rare Himalayan herbs and its use is becoming extinct. Hand picked, hand made herbs are now almost a thing of the past, except in these remote locations. Used together with western medicine these ancient methods are a powerful tool for health and well being, not just in these forgotten areas but also throughout the world.

Now acting as a bridge between east and west Khachodling has expanded its medical care. Enabling such medical services is a continuation of the deep love, care and commitment to the Himalayan lay, yogic and monastic communities that has been given by Khandro-la’s family and spiritual lineage for generations. These communities trust and revere Khandro-la’s spiritual tradition and it puts Khachodling in a unique position to serve them.

Khachodling Trust’s Medical Services for the Himalayas works to save these cultures through medical service provision that offers the best of both Eastern and Western modalities.  Two main medical projects that are currently active are:

 
         
  Eye restoration project  

Eye Restoration Project for Nomads

2006 - Khandro-la visited the nomadic people of Lake Tsomoriri, Ladakh (15,000ft). These nomads have deep devotion and trust to her lineage and they would ask Khandro-la to blow mantras on their eyes for blessed healing. Khandro-la was deeply moved by their purity and also their obvious need for eye care. They continued coming to her for blessing to heal their eyes and due to her modern exposure she realized that what they really needed on the material level was good eye care.

 
         
 

eye examination

eye examination

 

2007 – During her Australian teaching tour Khandro-la showed photos of these people and talked of their need for western eye care. On the last day of her visit an Australian eye surgeon, experienced in developing countries, offered to visit almost immediately!

The Tsomoriri community does not easily trust NGO's as they have had bad experiences of inexperienced doctors and experimentation. In contrast Khandro-la herself is deeply trusted. She had to personally travel to the area before the visit of the eye doctor to set up this first programme.

In July that year the surgeon came to Lake Tsomoriri and worked with the Khachodling team which consisted of the Australian eye surgeon, a monk organisor and a western student of Khandro-la whom has been living at the nunnery in Zanskar for some years, as well as Khachodling's amchi (traditional healer) from Mulbeck. Over 100 nomads were treated and small operations conducted. Both eastern and western modalities harmoniously worked together, just as the Khachodling vision emphasizes.

This treatment and investigatory eye camp found that many eye problems are caused by the high altitude life of spending long hours in the outdoors under high ultraviolet rays while tending yak and sheep. Eye problems are also caused by the smoke of fires used for cooking and heating inside yak tents. Thus local conditions combined with no person locally to be able to treat simple conditions immediately or advise on basic eye care, make for many eye diseases that are fully preventable. At the end of that year the eye doctor promised to return with the vision that there be an annual eye camp which invites specialists and we look for local people to train as “barefoot eye nurse”

 
         
 

eye treatment

eye team 2008

 

2008 – The project this year invited two Australian eye surgeons and on Australian optometrist. Together they worked again with monks, nuns, lay westerners and local traditional peoples to run the eye camp in Lake Tsomiriri. In addition Khachodling offered its service in Leh and two other needy communities on the way to the Lake. Now over 500 local and nomadic people have been treated, medicines, reading and sunglasses provided.

Important links were made on this trip with the one local eye surgeon in Leh (he is the only one for the entire area of Ladakh and Zanskar) began a longer training of our first local “barefoot eye nurse” – a monk with virtually no previous experience or western style education. He has just served his first winter treating the nomads.

Other locals had become part of the training offered by the western surgeons and optometrist  - Tsewang from Manali, Ani (Khachodling’s female amchi/traditional doctor from Mulbeck) and Dawa from Lahoul. In Leh, a young female high school student assisted in translating. She enjoyed it so much she was invited to come for the rest of the eye camp. She has been so moved she is planning to become an eye doctor.

The plan is to eventually employ and train up to nine local people as “barefoot eye nurses” and provide them with the support (medicines, equipment and transport) needed to diagnose and treat in local communities and set up treatment for the annual visit of eye specialists.

 
         
 

Amchi Ngawang treating

Nun Pharmacist

Pilloung people

 

 

East-West Hospital in Mulbeck

For 12 years Amchi Ngawang has diligently served the medical needs of people in the region of Kargil and Mulbeck. This area is approximately 7 hours west of Leh, Ladakh and approximately 8 hours from Srinigar. Amchi, which means traditional medicine doctor, has very busy clinics in the city of Kargil and the small town of Mulbeck, (where he lives with his three staff).

Amchi-la is a well-respected and trusted medical and spiritual figure in the area. His clinics always serve equally people from all religions – Buddhist and Muslim, and they show respect and care at a human level beyond the conflict that has sometimes affected this area. Patients, usually over 100 per week, sometimes travel 8-10 hours for diagnosis and treatment.

In 2007 Amchi Ngawang, who is also a devoted student of the yogic lineage of Togden Shakya Shri, offered Khandro-la and her Khachodling Trust, his premises and his skilled team (two doctors and two pharmacists) of traditional medical practitioners.

This offer has encouraged Khandro-la to base her Khachodling Medical Services from this area. Mulbeck is a good location as it is an important stopover between Ladakh and Zanskar. It is an ideal location for a small hospital, which could serve these remote populations. Around a traditional care facility it is proposed to build western medical clinics – dentist, eye, paediatric and emergency care as well as a diagnostic laboratory, thus operating as an East-West medical facility.

In 2008, the people of Pilloung (near Mulbeck) so much supported this vision that they offered Khachodling a good piece of land for this hospital and its clinics. Site planning and fundraising is now the major focus for this hospital. 

If you are in the area do please visit Amchi Ngawang and the Khachodling clinics. In Mulbeck it includes a small gompa opposite the famous chamba statue. Should you wish to contribute to this important project click the "Donate Now" button below.

 
         
         
         
         
         
     
Donate Now
Join Email List
Update Details
 
         
         
       
    top of page